dagibbs: (Default)
dagibbs ([personal profile] dagibbs) wrote2007-08-27 01:54 am
Entry tags:

German help - ragnhildr?

[edit] Game designer answered on BGG, it is simultaneous occupation. [/edit]

Hey ragnhildr, could you help with some German?

The rules to Antike in German are available at: http://www.eggertspiele.com/down/antike/antike_regel_deu.pdf

(And French rules here: http://www.eggertspiele.com/down/antike/antike_regles_franz.pdf )

The French pretty clearly use s'occuper for the boats -- "occupy" suggests ironphoenix's interpretation of the rules is correct.

Babelfish uses "travelled" and "drives on" for the German, which isn't good enough for me to know what the better interpretation of the German would be.

The German paragraph in question (for navigators) would be:

SEEFAHRER (5)
Für sieben befahrene Meere erhält ein Volk einen
antiken Seefahrer. Sobald es 14 Meere befährt,
erhält es einen zweiten antiken Seefahrer. Dabei
zählt jede Provinz als befahrenes Meer, in der
sich am Ende des Spielzuges mindestens eine
eigene Galeere befindet. Dies gilt unabhängig
davon, ob sich auch Galeeren anderer Völker in
der Provinz befinden.

[identity profile] gabriel-le.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 11:51 am (UTC)(link)
what's the context for the question? Is this whether landed armies can attack someone's navy?

[identity profile] eviljohn.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 12:46 pm (UTC)(link)
Same question here, there's english translations and rules questions and answers on boradgamegeek...

[identity profile] dagibbs.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 02:14 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I posted this exact game question on BGG. The designer answered -- it is simultaneous occupation.

[identity profile] dagibbs.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 02:14 pm (UTC)(link)
This is when you get the "Navigator" card.