Jul. 4th, 2007
Rail Baron oopses
Jul. 4th, 2007 09:40 pmWe made a few little mistakes in our Rail Baron game.
1) box cars (double sixes) gives a bonus die, even without an express. (Not, I think, that it ever mattered.)
2) User fees are paid at the end of your turn. Delivery payoffs are immediate. i.e. you can arrive, collect your income, then pay to use the rail. This could have made a difference for a close/not-close purchase decision. (We're too used to the Crayon Rails way of doing it.)
3) You're not allowed to count pips after rolling the dice -- though you may do so before hand. This is in the rules twice, and heavily emphasized. I think it is a bad rule. (I understand what this rule is trying to do, but in fact I think it would make things even longer. With this rule, if it mattered, I'd have to precount and prefigure every possible dice roll before actually rolling the dice. By rolling, then counting, I only need to count the possible choices for that particular roll.)
4) You still pay the bank $1000/turn when moving on your own rail. I remember this being mentioned, but we didn't implement it. (You don't pay $2000 if using both your and bank's rail.)
Not that most of this matters -- they don't really change the game enough to be interesting.
But, I saw an auction variant on BGG that might make it more interesting (though require more paperwork) as well as some alternate endings that might also reduce the mid-game roll&move&collect money towards the $200,000 after all buying is done boredom.
(Errors 3 and 4 are common variants that serve to shorten the game without distorting things too much.)
1) box cars (double sixes) gives a bonus die, even without an express. (Not, I think, that it ever mattered.)
2) User fees are paid at the end of your turn. Delivery payoffs are immediate. i.e. you can arrive, collect your income, then pay to use the rail. This could have made a difference for a close/not-close purchase decision. (We're too used to the Crayon Rails way of doing it.)
3) You're not allowed to count pips after rolling the dice -- though you may do so before hand. This is in the rules twice, and heavily emphasized. I think it is a bad rule. (I understand what this rule is trying to do, but in fact I think it would make things even longer. With this rule, if it mattered, I'd have to precount and prefigure every possible dice roll before actually rolling the dice. By rolling, then counting, I only need to count the possible choices for that particular roll.)
4) You still pay the bank $1000/turn when moving on your own rail. I remember this being mentioned, but we didn't implement it. (You don't pay $2000 if using both your and bank's rail.)
Not that most of this matters -- they don't really change the game enough to be interesting.
But, I saw an auction variant on BGG that might make it more interesting (though require more paperwork) as well as some alternate endings that might also reduce the mid-game roll&move&collect money towards the $200,000 after all buying is done boredom.
(Errors 3 and 4 are common variants that serve to shorten the game without distorting things too much.)